I’m A Slacker….

Yes I know, I haven’t posted in quite a while. But I assure you it’s not because I’m gorging on all sorts of unhealthy junk and I don’t want to share what I’ve been eating. Nope, I haven’t been eating much of anything these days. Since my trip to the ER, three visits to the gastroenterologist, and colonoscopy I have fasted for two days, eaten 1 decent meal, and gotten zero answers about all of this stomach trouble I’m having. While I’ve lost a solid 6 pounds, I’m steadily gaining it back with each solid meal that I eat. I actually had a really difficult time figuring out what to eat before I even had to fast for two days. Three days before a colonoscopy you can’t have raw veggies, nuts, or any fruit containing seeds–aka basically everything I eat. I found it humorous that while most americans with their burgers and fries could eat normally with no issue, I was struggling to find things to eat. Needless to say, paleo and colon prep do not pair well. I was trying to find ways around the rules. “Kale chips aren’t raw…so I can eat that right?” Unfortunately I’m still waiting on the biopsy so I won’t know what’s going on for about another week. What has all of this meant for my half marathon training? Uh, yeah about that…Having severe stomach pain, little or nothing to eat, and being on heavy meds has made it pretty much impossible to train. I’m slowly easing back in though. I did some weights and circuits yesterday and did an easy 4 mile run today. It’s going to be interesting to see how the 10 miler goes on the 10th but I still plan to run it.

The good news out of all of this, is that cleansing my system sort of gave me a fresh start, and with only 20 days until I hit the beach, I think I’m going to start a Whole30 20. For those of you who don’t know what a Whole30 is, here’s a great summary: http://whole30.com/step-two/. I’ve seen a lot of sample meal plans and as long as you take the time to plan and prepare it seems pretty simple. I know my sweet tooth will probably rear it’s ugly head a few times during it, but I already swore off sweets until vacation anyway. I have prepped most of my meals for the week and they are compliant, so as long as I don’t snack off track I should be off to a good start!

Have you ever done a Whole 30? What did you discover about food allergies or aches and pains?

Leave a Reply

