Day 42: Because who likes to wear pants?

pants

So I guess you could say I had as good of a Monday as anyone could have, minus the rain (except I’m sure my sinuses are probably rejoicing). I prepped everything the night before so that I could relax and sip my coffee juice in the morning. Yesterday I accomplished my 8 mile run like I said I would, but I was 11 seconds off my usual 6-8 mile pace and I know exactly why. My mom made pancakes, and since I was overly tired and we were out of eggs, I gave in and ate them…big mistake. Okay, so I know I could have turned them down, but I am one of those weirdos that HAS to have breakfast food before I can have any other kind of food, and since we were out of eggs and egg whites, and we don’t keep cereal around the house, I basically had no other options. Trust me, I won’t be making that mistake again anytime soon. At about the 5 mile mark I was doubled over in pain, my stomach was distended to the point of looking very pregnant, and I was sobbing every time my feet hit the ground. The only reason I continued to run instead of stopping was because I had to get back to my car somehow and I wanted to get there asap. I literally had no idea I would have such a terrible adverse reaction, all from what I used to consider my favorite breakfast. All the more reason to keep with paleo. Be on the lookout later this week for a post all about Grain Pain.

So due to my lesson learned through severe pain, it was very easy for me to stay on track today. Plus I really cannot stress the importance of preparing ahead of time if you’re busy like me. It makes it so you have no room for excuses, and you won’t be as likely to fail because you gave into a craving due to hanger (anger caused by excessive hunger). I prepped all my veggies and put them in a bag so that I could make a quick juice in the morning–kale, celery, cucumber, apple, parsley. I think next time I’ll add another apple or something to give it a little more flavor because this was not my best juice (my favorite is this one). The juice tided me over for a while, but like I said, I am such a breakfast person. I packed a greek yogurt and some homemade Apple Pie Paleo Granola I made yesterday and grabbed it out when I got hungry. This granola turned out sooo good, and I haven’t liked any of the paleo “granola”s I’ve tried in the past. Here’s the recipe, I added some hemp hearts (I bought them to be used by themselves as paleo granola and was sorely disappointed) and chia seeds. It’s so good I was eating handfuls of it by itself.

Apple Pie Paleo Granola
1/2 cup almonds
1/2 cup pecans
1/2 cup walnuts
1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
7 medjool dates, chopped
1/3 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 teaspoon allspice
1/4 teaspoon cloves
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
Pinch of sea salt
1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/3 cup coconut oil, melted
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
Preheat oven to 350 and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Add the nuts/dates/shredded coconut to a food processor and pulse to slightly chop nuts, add spices and pulse again. In a bowl whisk together the wet ingredients, then place in food processor with nut mixture and pulse to combine. Evenly distribute the granola on the baking sheet, bake for 20-30 minutes or until golden. (Keep an eye on it, the edges will burn)

Lunch was a grilled chicken breast and a sweet potato. I snacked on an apple and some almond butter mid-afternoon, and then took an indoor training/weights day due to the rain. Solid two hours of arms, back, and ab work. Dinner was shrimp skewers and broccoli kale slaw 🙂

20140415-002500.jpg

Leave a Reply

