Day 30: Refresh.

sunflower psalm

I love Psalms so much. Something about the poetry is just soothing to me. At church last night they read the passage we’ve all heard so many times before, “The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want. He lays me down in green pastures, He leads me by still waters. He refreshes my soul.” Most of us get so caught up in the green pastures and still waters imagery that we neglect the last sentence: He refreshes my soul. I think that’s important to remember sometimes in the midst of everything going on in our lives, to just take a moment and let God refresh you. The speaker also noted that we tend to make separate lists of the things we need to get done, and often personal hygiene and diet/excercise fall into a totally separate category than going to church or taking time to pray, and they shouldn’t. Just as we are called to honor God with our bodies (in the sexual sense), we also need to honor God with our bodies by treating them with respect by what we put into them and how we take care of them.  There’s a reason you feel refreshed when you eat healthy and exercise and do good for your body, this is the way God created us to live. Now I’m not saying eating fast food is a sin, I’m just saying that we need to be respectful of God’s awesome creation in every aspect of life. Anyways,

I finally went to the doctor today to see what’s been causing the pain in my hip. The diagnosis: Iliotibial Band Syndrome aka I pulled my IT band. This isn’t the worst news, but it’s also not the best. While she didn’t tell me to stop running (because let’s be honest, I wouldn’t have), she did refer me to a physical therapist which is a more positive result than I was expecting. I usually HATE going to the doctor for running related injuries. So many times I’ve been blown off, treated as a “new years resolutioner” or a beginner, which pisses me off because I actually hate new years resolutioners. This time I made sure to mention I have been running at least 3 miles a day, 4-5 days a week, for YEARS. I was glad to get a solid diagnosis and a legitimate treatment option.

Before I went to the doctor I had some pumpkin mixed with a spoonful of almond butter and some honey/cinnamon/pumpkin pie spice, topped with some pecans. The fridge is pretty bare right now so before my workout I had to settle for a cup of coconut milk yogurt. I did arms and upper back today for a solid hour and 45 minutes so I’m pretty sure I went through every arm/back exercise known to man…I won’t write it all out and put you through that. Afterward I had my Paleo Frosty creation again. I think this one will become a regular. Speaking of…I hope there aren’t adverse effects of eating too much spinach, because the amount I’ve consumed the past few days has been nothing short of ridiculous. In eggs, in chicken, in salad, in smoothies, on top of mushrooms…the list goes on. I guess it’s a good thing and I should just roll with it I just feel like downing a MASSIVE container in less than 3 days is a bit much. What can I say? Maybe Popeye is more my type than I thought.

For dinner I decided to go with a warm weather favorite. In case you haven’t noticed, the vegetables I always have on hand are bell peppers, onions, mushrooms, and spinach. I decided to use all but the spinach to make chicken vegetable skewers, or kebabs. I also happened to have 2 yellow squash on hand and some pineapple to throw into the mix. This is such a simple dinner that can be thrown together last minute and still packs a nutritional punch! The grilled pineapple really makes it a great summery dish, and considering it was 80 degrees today I’d say we’re getting there.

20140401-234543.jpg

20140401-234549.jpg

Leave a Reply

