Day 28: “If it’s still in your mind it’s worth taking the risk”

So I stole this quote from a list of inspiring quotes about writing I found on buzzfeed, and I thought it had a lot to do with this little experiment of mine I’ve been calling this blog. I didn’t feel compelled to write because I thought people actually cared what I had to say, in fact, I knew they didn’t. I didn’t write each post with an agenda, hoping to instantly gain popularity. And it didn’t start it because I wanted to seem like some expert, because I have so many times admitted that I’m not. I began to write because it was a thought I had. I had so many in fact, I needed a place to put them. Voila. It was intriguing because it was risky, it felt vulnerable, and ultimately I decided, “it’s worth taking the risk.”
I’m glad I did.
From encouraging comments, to simply being held accountable to myself, I have received little gratifications along with the freeing act of writing itself. Some days are harder than others. Some days I don’t want to share because I feel I have nothing to give, but those often turn into the days when I dig deep and find the most insight. So if you’ve been waiting to start a health journey, write a blog, or change your life in any way, I encourage you to do it.

“Take chances. It may be bad, but it’s the only way you can do anything really good.”
-William Faulkner

I have a couple new awesome recipes to share with you guys so it’s safe to say that even though I didn’t write yesterday, I did eat good. I can’t stop trying Carrots N’ Cake’s Eggless Paleo Breakfast Ideas. They literally all look so good, and so far they are. I decided to try one I’ve been looking forward to: Banana Apple Crisp with Vanilla Coconut Cream. It made the whole house smell like heaven. It almost feels like an oatmeal dish, but without the oats and all of the flavor. The only downside was having to wait on it to cook in the oven. I wake up hungryyy so I like breakfast to get into my belly pronto.

20140331-003050.jpg

 

Lunch was leftover garlic butter shrimp spaghetti squash and some broccoli. Dinner was sooo yummy and will definitely be making another appearance soon: Spinach, Bacon, and Goat Cheese Stuffed Chicken Breasts. NOM OMG.

20140331-003105.jpg  20140331-003111.jpg

I also made a spinach salad to accompany it (I don’t think I’ve ever eaten so much spinach in one sitting…and loved it). I topped it with bacon crumbles (since I already had it cooking’ ya know?), cremini mushrooms–sauteed in the same pan as the bacon…oh yess, and walnuts, all topped with a balsamic vinaigrette of sorts. I forgot how much better real bacon is than turkey bacon until I had some, and now I’m scared for the future…
Today I started the day off with another amazing egg scramble, and I’m pretty sure I got a whole days worth of veggies in there–bell peppers, mushrooms, sun dried tomatoes, even spinach (nope, I didn’t get too much at dinner yesterday). After church, I had originally intended to keep my run short and sweet. Somehow it turned into a 5 mile all uphill sprint, and I can’t say I’m mad about it. I suck, I mean SUCK, at hills. So I always feel super accomplished after I do a run full of them, and today was just that. I’m not talking little ones on a mostly flat course either, these were GIANT MOUNTAINS going nowhere but up. I always find it funny when I go out to run one way and end up somewhere totally different. When I got back I had a smoothie with more spinach (I’m shocked I’m not sick of it too), protein, blueberries, and some almond butter. I was surprisingly not hungry for the rest of the day until dinner which turned out AMAZING, if I do say so myself. I love love love salmon. I would eat it more than chicken if it wasn’t way more expensive. One of my favorite salmon dishes of the many I’ve had, was at a local restaurant that served it baked with lemon butter sauce and topped with sun dried tomatoes. So when I got some salmon on sale I figured, I can replicate that pretty easily. I had also seen this thing on Pinterest that said “for the perfect salmon every time, drizzle the filet with olive oil or butter, sprinkle with salt and pepper, put it in a cold oven, then turn to 400 degrees. 25 minutes later the salmon is perfect.” Sounded pretty simple to me, so I tried it, and then about halfway through I put the sun dried tomatoes on top. It. Was. Heavenly. I can’t even tell you how great it turned out. If you love salmon, this is so easy and amazing. I served it with a side of broccoli, and because I was eating with non-paleos, some goat cheese and basil ravioli. The whole meal was amazing, and it tasted almost exactly like the restaurant version I had had. Beat that.

20140331-003120.jpg

20140331-003126.jpg

Leave a Reply

