Day 26: Everybody wants happiness, no one wants pain, but how can you make a rainbow…without a little rain?

It was disgusting and rainy today, no condition for running. So, I took a cross training/weights day and I’m so glad I did. I warmed up on the elliptical and then did a few total body weights circuits.
The first was from Popsugar:
20 step ups
20 push-ups
20 walking lunges (I did around the world lunges–forward lunge, side lunge, reverse lunge)
Repeat 3x.
15 squat jumps
15 tricep dips
60 second plank with leg lifts
Repeat 3x.
30 second wall sit
20 bicycle crunches
Side planks, 30 seconds each
Repeat 3x.
Next was something adapted from a personal training session I had a few months ago:
20 leg presses
20 medicine ball crunches
20 mountain climbers
Repeat 3x
20 chest presses
20 lat pull downs
10 burpees
Repeat 3x
Upper Body:
15 lying chest flys
15 single arm bent-over rows
15 jumping jacks with weights
Repeat 3x
15 reverse flys
15 dead lift to bent over row
15 tricep kickbacks
Repeat 3x
25 bicep curls
15 tricep overhead extensions
Repeat 3x
Lower Body:
15 weighted lunges
20 squats
10 jump squats
Repeat 3x
Core:
30 second plank
20 bird dogs
20 bicycle crunches
20 leg lifts
30 second plank
and a few other things here and there, I can’t remember exactly.
The whole workout took about 2 hours, but honestly I don’t really mind when I’m doing weight work. I enjoy it more than running to be honest.

Breakfast was the most delicious egg scramble EVER. Mushrooms, bell peppers, organic sun dried tomatoes sautéed in olive oil, scrambled with 2 eggs, 1 egg white, and some goat cheese = nomnomnom. This kept me full the whole morning, through my two hour workout, and basically until dinner because I only had a coconut milk yogurt with some paleo granola after my workout. Dinner was also very filling and full of veggies. I did a chicken and vegetable stir fry in the wok with bell peppers, onions, zucchini, and mushrooms, then topped with some special sauce.
Special Sauce:
5 tbsp coconut aminos
2 tbsp sesame oil
2 tbsp almond butter
I also made a side of cauliflower fried rice. Just put the cauliflower in a food processor until it’s “rice like”, then cook with peas and carrots, add some scrambled eggs and turkey bacon pieces and it’s the perfect veggie and flavor packed compliment to stir fry.

Finally, in honor of #FailFriday, here is a link to the top 20 GIFs of exercise mishaps:
http://www.heavy.com/social/2013/05/workout-fail-gifs/

Leave a Reply

