Day 25: Don’t Get Glad, Get Mad

You heard me right. No, I’m not talking about the trash bag, unless we are talking about how I trashed my 10K personal best today! 😋 While today was hellish to say the least, one good thing came of it. Running angry makes my times oh so much faster. I was 4 minutes faster than my previous 10K personal best, 6 seconds faster than my fastest average pace per mile since I’ve been training, and I felt great the entire time. I didn’t feel like I was dragging along like I do some days, but that could have been because of the perfect weather and wearing my new workout top. New clothes always make you feel your best.

Today was my first day of full fledged Paleo, and while I can’t attribute all of my run records to the day’s diet successes, I did feel pretty great. No bloating, discomfort, and headaches like yesterday. Breakfast was a coconut milk yogurt with blueberries as I was on the go. For lunch I had made ahead a big batch of Maple Shallot Vinaigrette, so I threw a grilled chicken breast over some awesome local lettuce I found at Kroger, and it gave me no issues during my run later. That’s something I can’t say about a lot of foods.

20140327-232320.jpg

20140327-232328.jpg

Dinner was spaghetti squash topped with shrimp in an amazing lemon/garlic butter sauce with a big pile of broccoli. Yum! Hope everyone had a chance to turn a very crappy day into some little wins.

20140327-232335.jpgHomework: think of something that makes you mad. Not just pissed off mad, like, really gets you angry and worked up mad. Now stew over it for a little bit, and take off running! I promise your times will thank you, and so will your wallet.running cheaper than therapy

 

Leave a Reply

