Day 20: Recipes on Recipes

Ever since the success of my Paleo Banana Bread Muffins,  I’ve been on a recipe re-vamp frenzy. I’ve tried something new every day and haven’t found a dud yet! If I could encourage anyone reading to do anything on their health journey, it would be to try new healthy recipes. People think eating healthy has to be boring….uh, no way! I’ve actually enjoyed my meals a million times more since starting this whole clean eating/paleo/half marathon training journey and I’ve learned to love healthy foods I never even knew existed before! So here are a few recipes to add to your repertoire:

(I apologize in advance for all the goat cheese, we had a large log I needed to use)
Goat Cheese Stuffed Pears
To be honest I really just eyeballed this recipe, added the kitchen sink, and kept tasting until I was satisfied, but I will try to approximate ingredient amounts!
4 or 5 Pears of your choice (I used a mix of D’Anjou and Bartlett, just whatever you have), sliced in half and inside removed, leaving some around the edges
2 oz. Goat Cheese (We had a large 11 oz. log, but they usually come in 4 oz. small logs and I probably used about half of one of those)
Handful of walnuts (this is really personal preference)
5 Medjool Dates, chopped
Chicken breast, shredded (optional, I had one ready and wanted the protein boost)
Honey to taste
Mix all ingredients together and adjust until you’re happy with the ratios, add to inside of pears
Preheat oven to 350, Place in a baking dish with a splash of water and apple juice (or really any juice) and cook until heated through

20140323-010542.jpg

20140323-010557.jpg

20140323-010605.jpg

Garlic and Goat Cheese Spaghetti Squash
Adapted from Theprimalist.com
1/2 spaghetti squash for each person you plan to feed
1/2 bunch parsley, chopped
6-7 garlic cloves (to taste)
3 tbsp butter
3/4 cup olive oil (I would use a little less, this made it pretty oily)
Salt & Pepper, to taste
Juice of one lemon
5 oz. Goat Cheese (like I said we had the large 11 oz. log, I used about half, again this is to taste)
Add some protein! I made this dish with shrimp, and actually sautéed the shrimp in the garlic butter mixture and then poured it over the spaghetti squash and topped with goat cheese. Soo delicious. It feels like a decadent italian meal you should feel guilty about, but you don’t have to!

20140323-010614.jpg

Paleo Crock Pot Cashew Chicken
From Preppy Paleo
1/4 cup arrowroot starch
1/2 tsp. black pepper
2 lbs. chicken (I used breast), cut into bite-size pieces
1 tbs. coconut oil
3 tbs. coconut aminos
2 tbs. rice vinegar
2 tbs. organic ketchup (tomato paste would work also)
1/2-1 tbs. palm sugar (I used honey)
2 minced garlic cloves
1/2 tsp. minced fresh ginger
1/4-1/2 red pepper flakes
1/2 cup raw cashews

Toss the meat in the arrowroot and black pepper to coat. Cook the chicken in your oil of choice (I used coconut) until no longer pink and then toss in crock pot. Mix coconut amines, rice vinegar, ketchup, sugar of choice, garlic, ginger, and red pepper flakes, then pour the mixture over the chicken in the crock pot. Cook on low 3-4 hours or high 1-2 hours. Add cashews to the mix right before you’re ready to serve and top with green onions.

My secret tip to making this recipe extra AHmazing: use Toasted Coconut Cashews. They make this dish a little sweeter, give it more texture, and just really make it awesome. You can find these at Costco!

20140323-011228.jpg

20140323-011221.jpg

Quinoa Buckwheat Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Adapted from Ambitious Kitchen
1 Cup cooked quinoa
3/4 cup buckwheat flour (or your favorite healthy flour of choice)
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
3 large egg whites (you could use regular eggs as well)
1/3 cup plain greek yogurt
2 tablespoons milk of your choice (I used almond)
2 tablespoons sugar of choice (I used honey, you could also use maple syrup)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large ripe bananas, mashed/pureed (you could do without these, I started on the recipe before I realized I didn’t have them and didn’t feel like I was missing out but they may help with moisture/sweetness)
Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips (I’m not putting an amount on this because let’s be honest, you’re going to put as many as you want!)

Combine dry ingredients and wet ingredients separately, then add wet to dry and whisk to combine. Cook until firm on both sides, then top with your favorite fruits, maple syrup, or more chocolate chips! (oops did I say that?)

20140323-010635.jpg

20140323-010642.jpg

Fish Tacos with Pineapple Kale Jicama Slaw
Adapted from Clean Eating Magazine
2-3 Mahi Mahi Filets (prepared how you like, I chose grilled and it was fabulous)
Season with cumin, chile powder, paprika to taste
Slaw:
Begin with Costco Kale slaw and add-

  • 1 cup fresh, diced pineapple
  • 1 cup julienned jicama
  • 1/3 cup thinly slicedscallions
  • 1 lime, juiced and zested
  • 1 tbsp unseasoned rice vinegar
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tbsp chopped fresh mint

Cilantro lime yogurt sauce:
(This was another eyeball creation, so play around with it until you like it!)
4-5 Tablespoons plain greek yogurt
Cumin, paprika, chile powder, to taste
4 tablespoons lime juice
1-2 tablespoons of your favorite barbecue sauce
Honey, to taste

Spread a few dollops of the yogurt sauce on your favorite tortilla, add a few pieces of Mahi Mahi, andtop with the slaw mixture!
This recipe is perfect for the upcoming warm weather. It is light, tropical, and refreshing.

20140323-010656.jpg

20140323-010650.jpg

These recipes are WORTH TRYING. Trust me, I wouldn’t post them if they weren’t. If you try any (or all) of them, please let me know how it went and what you thought!

One thought on “Day 20: Recipes on Recipes

Leave a Reply

