Day 17: Divergent in Cats, and a Bad-Ass Banana Muffin Recipe

“Becoming fearless isn’t the point. That’s impossible. It’s learning how to control your fear, and how to be free from it.”  

We all struggle with some kind of fear, whether it be rational or irrational. Making decisions is one of my biggest fears. I am the most indecisive person you will ever meet. Unfortunately, I have come to a crossroads in my life where I’m going to have to make a few huge, life changing decisions, and that scares the s*** out of me. I thought it was funny to see this quote as I was reading the book Divergent and have it be so oddly applicable–that keeps happening lately.

Today was a very weird day. Busy, but weird. I couldn’t quite tell you why. I’ve been a little stressed lately so today I took some “me” time and got spring mani’d up. Something about freshly done nails just makes you feel like a million bucks (or in my case at least a couple hundred).

20140319-235841.jpg

Wednesdays have unfortunately become my rest days because they are so full of running around, which really sucks because I would rather rest on a lazy sunday when I could enjoy my day. That’s not to say that I don’t enjoy Wednesdays at all though because I do love my time at Campus Kitchen (although sometimes stressful). We literally had so.much.food. to cook today. Luckily, we had lots of awesome volunteers to get the job done! We even whipped up a green bean casserole, which was new to the recipe repertoire (sorry I forgot to take a picture).

This morning I whipped up my own version of J Christopher’s “Billy Goat” omelette, but it turned into a scramble. It had egg whites with spinach, sun dried tomatoes, mushrooms, and goat cheese–so delish. It kept me full until around lunchtime when I swung by Starbucks (I know, naughty) and wanted a sweet treat to go with my coffee. Luckily in preparation for a day of running around (and also because I had rotting bananas), I baked some Paleo Banana Bread muffins. I didn’t really know what to expect because I’m not much of a muffin person (mainly because most of them are wayy bad for you), and because I’ve never made any paleo-fied baked good besides those first cookies I tried out. They turned out amazing!! I used Foodie Rachel’s Recipe and added some Enjoy Life Chocolate Chips (don’t judge, they were needed). She was right, the texture was just like a normal muffin so I didn’t feel like I was missing out on anything from the Starbucks bakery counter, and I didn’t have to feel guilty either!

20140319-235853.jpg

20140319-235900.jpg

I just kinda snacked for the rest of the day. Strawberries here, bell pepper slices there. I got a Great Goodness juice from Earth Fare (carrots, apples, beets, parsley, spiraling, greens +), and then had some of the leftover butternut squash from last night’s dinner. I don’t know why I wasn’t particularly hungry. I thought maybe it was because I didn’t workout, but let’s face it–I’m always hungry no matter if I work out or not. I think the stress and caffeine just make a lethal combination. While I was at Earth Fare I found the Maca Root Powder I had been looking for! I opted for the tiny bottle because the large was $17 and I just couldn’t commit to that. I’ve been dying to try this apple cinnamon oatmeal recipe with it because it’s supposed butterscotch taste makes it tastes like a mix between an oatmeal cookie and a candy apple (oh and of course the health benefits too…).

In honor of Divergent coming out tomorrow and just finishing the book yesterday, I thought I’d post a few funny images I found. (Spoiler alert)

Also big FAT SPOILER ALERT don’t pinterest search Divergent looking for funny gifs BECAUSE IT WILL GIVE AWAY THE END OF THE WHOLE SERIES. Oops. I am still going to read the other two books thought because this one was so good.

abnegation

not erudite

divergent cake

divergent cats

Leave a Reply

