Day 3: Beets, Blake Lively, & Botanical Gardens

So maybe I won’t make every post title an alliteration, but for now I like it. Wednesdays are always super busy for me running from meeting to meeting so as I write this I’m unwinding with a glass of peppermint tea. A lot of people don’t know that peppermint tea helps with bloating (good tip for bikini season).

The initial plan for today was to have a juicing day because I was supposed to be meeting a friend for “lunch” at Juice Up, but as I’ll elaborate later in this post things don’t always go according to plan. I started the day off with a beet, carrot, orange, and ginger juice. All my fellow runners need to check out this article on why beet juice is good for running! http://www.runnersworld.com/nutrition-for-runners/in-beet-juice-we-believe I’m not sure if it was the beets or my lack of time that got me to run my 3 miles today at race pace of 8:34 per mile but I think I’ll keep drinking it! After my run I made a batch of Blake Lively’s favorite juice:

  • 1 cup kale
  • 2 swiss chard leaves
  • 1/2 cup parsley
  • 1/2 small beet
  • 1/2 cup pineapple
  • 2 green apples (I used fuji because that’s what I keep on hand)
  • 1 sprig fresh mint
  • 1/2 lemon, peeled

Blake Lively is most definitely my girl crush/goal body/fitspo/whatever other kind of motivation you can think of so when I came across this recipe I ran to the grocery store and got all of the ingredients I didn’t have. She didn’t disappoint me, I think this is the best green juice recipe I’ve ever tasted! The pineapple and mint make it so refreshing, but it definitely packs in plenty of greens.

When lunch juice plans went awry I ended up at one of my favorite Athens joints, Marti’s at Midday, and enjoyed some of their amazeballs chicken salad.  Unfortunately, they close pretty early after lunch so I moved my studying operation to the botanical gardens because I heard it was the best undiscovered study spot. With an amazing view and free wifi (and coffee if you get there before 1:30)  it is the best place I have found to study so far.

My favorite part about Wednesday though is going to Campus Kitchen! If you don’t know what it is check out my first post. I am the shift leader for the Wednesday cooking shift where we prepare meals for our seniors to deliver the next day. Today we received a ton of salmon and fresh veggies from Trader Joe’s because the UGArden is having some difficulty after all the bad weather. Even though we were short a few volunteers due to midterms week our food looked better than ever!

20140305-233706.jpgEgg casserole with bell peppers and green onions20140305-233714.jpg

Roasted veggies

Which brings me back to things not always going as planned…

While today didn’t exactly go as planned, it was full of little blessings, and those are something I’ve come to appreciate a lot more lately. Recently life not going as planned for me would be an understatement. A more appropriate description would be jumping into a blender and then trying to put together the pieces while the motor was still running. I’ve never been one to ask the doctor for stitches, but this time I knew I couldn’t perform amputee surgery by myself. (End elaborate metaphor) I’ve prayed a lot. This last month has been tough. It didn’t go according to plan, but slowly I’m coming to terms with the fact that that’s ok20140305-233822.jpg

One thought on “Day 3: Beets, Blake Lively, & Botanical Gardens

Leave a Reply

