Video

Day 6: “I did it for me.”

For all the die hard Breaking Bad fans out there, you know what this infamous line means. For those of you who don’t know, I recommend you go binge watch every season of Breaking Bad immediately because all of the seasons are FINALLY on Netflix. There are so many different theories on the finale that I won’t even bother offering mine. I was very satisfied with the ending and I feel like all the loose ends were tied up. When I first started the series I thought it was a little weird and I wasn’t sure if I’d really get into it. After binge watching the first season in a day weird turned into addictive. So if you haven’t seen it go watch it now! And then watch these HILARIOUS interviews with Aaron Paul and Bryan Cranston on Conan that had me peeing my pants laughing:

On another note, the title quote of todays post has a dual meaning. I am in the middle of a health journey, sharing my successes and failures in hopes of helping others achieve their goals with me. But at the end of the day, I did it for me. I started this journey for me, I am making healthy choices for me, and I am refocusing my life for me. Who’s to say that’s a bad thing? It’s not like I’m cooking meth for me ;)

I started the day off with Bob’s Red Mill Muesli topped with fresh blueberries and honey. My mom, my dog Molly, and I all took a trip to the greenway because the weather was too good to miss! I had a great 6 mile run and surprisingly enjoyed (almost) every minute of it because the weather was so perfect. My splits improved so much! I know that you are supposed to run negative splits for races, but usually mine just go down..down..down. (If you’re not sure what I mean by “splits” check out this article from Fitsugar) Today my last two miles were as fast as my first two! I couldn’t be happier. I refueled with a Power Chicken Hummus Bowl from Panera, NOM. Dad wanted to go out for sushi tonight so I definitely did not protest that. I tried to order brown rice but they were out; call that the “eye roll.” However, a side salad and a spicy tuna roll topped with avocado, mango and more tuna wasn’t too much of a splurge. Unfortunately, sushi doesn’t keep you full for long, and it’s the weekend so I decided it was okay to indulge my sweet tooth a little. Needless to say I will have to stop myself from making this recipe every night.

Paleo Apple Crisp from Real Food Liz

20140309-000709.jpgShe’s not kidding when she says it onlytakes 10 minutes! With just 5 ingredients it’s amazing how decadent this dessert tastes.

Doctor’s Orders: Watch Breaking Bad, make this Apple Crisp (maybe eat the Apple Crisp while watching Breaking Bad)

Leave a Reply

